Coffeeville Lock and Dam water level — Alabama
Coffeeville Lock and Dam in Alabama was last measured at 33.25 ft (datum NGVD29), as of Aug 22, 2026, 1:15 PM (UTC+00:00) (USACE CWMS Data). Over its recent trend window the level has been rising (+0.8 ft).
- % of conservation pool full
- Not reported
- Storage
- Not reported
- Recent trend
- ↑Rising
+0.8 ft over the trend window
Recent trend
Readings this station published between Jun 2, 2026 and Jun 7, 2026 — a 5-day window — downsampled for display.
Data: USGS Water Services (waterservices.usgs.gov) and USACE CWMS Data (cwms-data.usace.army.mil), retrieved 2026-08-31. Both public domain (a work of the U.S. Government, 17 U.S.C. §105).
Source: USACE SAM/Coffeeville, retrieved Aug 31, 2026, 8:24 AM (UTC+00:00). Official page for this lake →
About this gauge's record
USACE's continuous elevation record for this project begins in 2013 (2 tracked series for this project).
The dam behind Coffeeville Lock and Dam
Coffeeville Lock and Dam is held back by Coffeeville Lock and Dam (also recorded as Coffeeville Lake) , a concrete gravity structure, resisting the reservoir by its own weight alone , standing 60 ft high and running 1,439 ft along its crest , built across TOMBIGBEE RIVER in Choctaw County , near COFFEEVILLE . It was completed in 1962 , and is owned by USACE - Mobile District (a federal owner) , to a design credited to CESAM.
Its recorded primary purpose is navigation — the pool is held inside a narrow band to keep a navigable depth, so large swings are rare by design . It also serves navigation;recreation.
Its spillway is gated, so the operator can hold the pool above the spillway crest and meter what leaves. The spillway opening is 1,119 ft wide.
NID classes it significant hazard potential: a failure would be expected to damage property and infrastructure rather than cost lives. It is a consequence rating, not a condition rating.
At its normal pool the reservoir covers about 8,500 acres. NID records a maximum storage of 190,800 acre-ft against a normal storage of 190,800 acre-ft. Its maximum discharge capacity is 71,000 cubic feet per second.
Dam facts: National Inventory of Dams record AL01431 , filed by US Army Corps of Engineers — U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, public domain. Water levels above come from USACE CWMS Data and are a separate source. (How this dam was matched to this gauge →)
How Coffeeville Lock and Dam compares nearby
2 of 6 nearby lakes with a current trend are also rising right now.
Nearby lakes
The six nearest published lakes by centroid distance (great-circle) — cross-state neighbors included.
| Lake | State | Level | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|
| Claiborne Lock and Dam | AL | 35.93 ft | 56 km |
| Millers Ferry | AL | 79.84 ft | 79 km |
| Okatibbee Crk at Arundel | MS | 262.49 ft | 84 km |
| Demopolis Lock and Dam | AL | 73.89 ft | 88 km |
| Okatibbee Lake | MS | 342.39 ft | 102 km |
| Selden Lock and Dam | AL | 96.25 ft | 117 km |
Frequently asked questions
- What is the current water level of Coffeeville Lock and Dam?
- As of Aug 22, 2026, 1:15 PM (UTC+00:00), the pool elevation was 33.25 ft (datum NGVD29). See the trend chart above for the recent direction.
- Is Coffeeville Lock and Dam full right now?
- Its managing agency does not publish a %-of-conservation-pool-full figure for this lake, so we show the bare level rather than estimate one.
- Where does this data come from?
- From USACE SAM/Coffeeville, retrieved Aug 31, 2026, 8:24 AM (UTC+00:00).
More in Alabama
See every lake tracked in Alabama, or read the methodology behind these figures.