Lock & Dam 09 water level — Arkansas
Lock & Dam 09 in Arkansas was last measured at 285.12 ft (datum NGVD29), as of Aug 31, 2026, 8:00 AM (UTC+00:00) (USACE CWMS Data). Over its recent trend window the level has been falling (−0.2 ft).
- % of conservation pool full
- Not reported
- Storage
- Not reported
- Recent trend
- ↓Falling
−0.2 ft over the trend window
Recent trend
Readings this station published between Jun 2, 2026 and Jun 23, 2026 — a 20-day window — downsampled for display.
Data: USGS Water Services (waterservices.usgs.gov) and USACE CWMS Data (cwms-data.usace.army.mil), retrieved 2026-08-31. Both public domain (a work of the U.S. Government, 17 U.S.C. §105).
Source: USACE SWL/LD09-Headwater, retrieved Aug 31, 2026, 8:24 AM (UTC+00:00). Official page for this lake →
About this gauge's record
USACE's continuous elevation record for this project begins in 1975 .
The dam behind Lock & Dam 09
Lock & Dam 09 is held back by Arthur V. Ormond Lock and Dam (also recorded as Pool 9;Winthrop Rockefeller Lake; Lock & Dam 9) , a concrete structure , standing 57 ft high and running 1,850 ft along its crest , built across ARKANSAS in Conway County , near MORRILTON . It was completed in 1969 , and is owned by USACE - Little Rock District (a federal owner) , to a design credited to CESWL.
Its recorded primary purpose is navigation — the pool is held inside a narrow band to keep a navigable depth, so large swings are rare by design . It also serves navigation;recreation;hydroelectric.
It is founded on rock, with a concrete core. Its spillway is gated, so the operator can hold the pool above the spillway crest and meter what leaves. The spillway opening is 840 ft wide.
NID classes it significant hazard potential: a failure would be expected to damage property and infrastructure rather than cost lives. It is a consequence rating, not a condition rating.
At its normal pool the reservoir covers about 5,660 acres. NID records a maximum storage of 70,400 acre-ft against a normal storage of 48,800 acre-ft. Its maximum discharge capacity is 518,000 cubic feet per second.
Dam facts: National Inventory of Dams record AR00165 , filed by US Army Corps of Engineers — U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, public domain. Water levels above come from USACE CWMS Data and are a separate source. (How this dam was matched to this gauge →)
Other gauges at this site
A second gauge reports at this same structure. Its readings are listed here rather than on a separate page, because it measures the same water.
| Gauge | Source | Elevation | Storage |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lock & Dam 09 - Lock Chamber | USACE SWL/LD09-Lock_Chamber | 285.08 ft (NGVD29) | — |
How Lock & Dam 09 compares nearby
5 of 6 nearby lakes with a current trend are also falling right now.
Nearby lakes
The six nearest published lakes by centroid distance (great-circle) — cross-state neighbors included.
| Lake | State | Level | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lock & Dam 09 - Lock Chamber | AR | 285.08 ft | 1 km |
| Lock & Dam 08 | AR | 265.11 ft | 23 km |
| Lock & Dam 08 - Lock Chamber | AR | 265.13 ft | 23 km |
| Lock & Dam 10 | AR | 337.49 ft | 37 km |
| Nimrod Dam | AR | 343.20 ft | 39 km |
| Lock & Dam 07 | AR | 249.13 ft | 54 km |
Frequently asked questions
- What is the current water level of Lock & Dam 09?
- As of Aug 31, 2026, 8:00 AM (UTC+00:00), the pool elevation was 285.12 ft (datum NGVD29). See the trend chart above for the recent direction.
- Is Lock & Dam 09 full right now?
- Its managing agency does not publish a %-of-conservation-pool-full figure for this lake, so we show the bare level rather than estimate one.
- Where does this data come from?
- From USACE SWL/LD09-Headwater, retrieved Aug 31, 2026, 8:24 AM (UTC+00:00).
More in Arkansas
See every lake tracked in Arkansas, or read the methodology behind these figures.