Indiana lake & reservoir water levels

13 lakes tracked · 13 with a current elevation reading · USGS Water Services + USACE CWMS Data

Indiana has 13 lakes and reservoirs tracked here — 13 with a current elevation reading, from USGS Water Services and USACE CWMS Data. Sort the table by level, storage, %-full, or trend, then open any lake for its full elevation-with-datum, trend sparkline, storage, and source-and-vintage stamp. Figures are provisional readings for reference — not for navigation or safety decisions.

Statewide totals Indiana · USGS + USACE
Lakes tracked
13

13 report a current pool-elevation reading; the rest report storage only.

With elevation reading
13
With %-full figure
0

All Indiana lakes

Every lake tracked in Indiana. Click a column heading to sort, or filter by name. Elevation lakes are listed before storage-only lakes; a missing figure always shows "not reported," never an estimate.

Indiana lakes, elevation lakes first, by name.
Datum Trend
Brookville Lake at Brookville 749.39 NGVD29 ↑Rising
Cagles Mill Lake 645.06 NGVD29 40,465 ↑Rising
Cecil M. Harden Lake at Ferndale 668.56 NGVD29 66,407 ↑Rising
Cm Harden Lake 668.54 NGVD29 ↓Falling
Eagle Creek Reservoir 790.57 NGVD29 →Steady
Geist Reservoir at Indianapolis 784.54 NAVD88 22,100 →Steady
J. Edward Roush Lake 764.52 NGVD29 ↑Rising
Mississinewa Lake at Peoria 752.43 NGVD29 ↑Rising
Monroe Lake 538.63 NGVD29 189,578 ↓Falling
Morse Reservoir at Noblesville 809.76 NAVD88 23,600 →Steady
Patoka Lake 540.75 NGVD29 223,078 ↓Falling
Salamonie Lake 773.77 NGVD29 →Steady
Salamonie Lake at Dora 769.16 NGVD29 55,628 ↑Rising

Data: USGS Water Services (waterservices.usgs.gov) and USACE CWMS Data (cwms-data.usace.army.mil), retrieved 2026-08-31. Both public domain (a work of the U.S. Government, 17 U.S.C. §105).

Every Indiana lake in detail

Each lake tracked in Indiana has its full record here — current reading, recent trend, and the dam behind it where the National Inventory of Dams has one. Use the table above to jump to a lake, or read straight through.

Brookville Lake at Brookville

USGS · reading Aug 31, 2026, 3:45 AM (UTC-04:00) Provisional

Pool elevation
749.39 ft

Datum NGVD29

% of conservation pool full
Not reported
Storage
Not reported
Recent trend
↑Rising

+0.6 ft over the trend window

761.5ft748.4ftJun 2 – Aug 31

Brookville Lake at Brookville is held back by Brookville Dam , an earthfill embankment, holding the pool back by sheer mass and an impervious core rather than by the strength of concrete , standing 181 ft high and running 2,800 ft along its crest , built across EAST FORK OF WHITEWATER RIVER in Franklin County , near BROOKVILLE . It was completed in 1974 , and is owned by USACE - Louisville District , to a design credited to CELRL. Its recorded primary purpose is flood risk reduction — the pool is drawn down between storms so there is empty space waiting for the next flood, which is why this level can fall in dry weather and climb sharply after rain. Its spillway is ungated: once the pool reaches the crest, water leaves on its own and the operator cannot hold it back. NID classes it high hazard potential. That describes what a failure would cost downstream — loss of life would be expected — and says nothing about how likely a failure is, or what condition the dam is in. National Inventory of Dams record IN03017 — U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, public domain.

Source: USGS site 03275990 · USACE LRL/Brookville-Lake, retrieved Aug 31, 2026, 8:24 AM (UTC+00:00). Official page for Brookville Lake at Brookville →

Cagles Mill Lake

USGS · reading Aug 31, 2026, 3:15 AM (UTC-04:00) Provisional

Pool elevation
645.06 ft

Datum NGVD29

% of conservation pool full
Not reported
Storage
40,465 acre-ft
Recent trend
↑Rising

+5.5 ft over the trend window

658.7ft639.4ftJun 2 – Aug 31

Cagles Mill Lake is held back by Cagles Mill Dam , a rockfill embankment — quarried rock placed in compacted layers around a sealing core , standing 150 ft high and running 950 ft along its crest , built across MILL CREEK in Putnam County , near BOWLING GREEN . It was completed in 1953 , and is owned by USACE - Louisville District , to a design credited to CELRL. Its recorded primary purpose is flood risk reduction — the pool is drawn down between storms so there is empty space waiting for the next flood, which is why this level can fall in dry weather and climb sharply after rain. Its spillway is ungated: once the pool reaches the crest, water leaves on its own and the operator cannot hold it back. NID classes it high hazard potential. That describes what a failure would cost downstream — loss of life would be expected — and says nothing about how likely a failure is, or what condition the dam is in. National Inventory of Dams record IN03002 — U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, public domain.

Source: USGS site 03358900 · USACE LRL/CaglesMill, retrieved Aug 31, 2026, 8:24 AM (UTC+00:00). Official page for Cagles Mill Lake →

Cm Harden Lake

USACE · reading Aug 22, 2026, 1:15 PM (UTC+00:00)

Pool elevation
668.54 ft

Datum NGVD29

% of conservation pool full
Not reported
Storage
Not reported
Recent trend
↓Falling

−1.2 ft over the trend window

663.6ft662.5ftJun 2 – Jun 7

Cm Harden Lake is held back by Cecil M. Harden Dam , an earthfill embankment, holding the pool back by sheer mass and an impervious core rather than by the strength of concrete , standing 119 ft high and running 1,860 ft along its crest , built across RACCOON CREEK in Parke County , near MANSFIELD . It was completed in 1960 , and is owned by USACE - Louisville District , to a design credited to CELRL. Its recorded primary purpose is flood risk reduction — the pool is drawn down between storms so there is empty space waiting for the next flood, which is why this level can fall in dry weather and climb sharply after rain. Its spillway is ungated: once the pool reaches the crest, water leaves on its own and the operator cannot hold it back. NID classes it high hazard potential. That describes what a failure would cost downstream — loss of life would be expected — and says nothing about how likely a failure is, or what condition the dam is in. National Inventory of Dams record IN03003 — U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, public domain.

Other gauges at this same structure: Cecil M. Harden Lake at Ferndale (USGS site 03340870 · USACE LRL/CMHarden) — 668.56 ft (NGVD29) — 66,407 acre-ft.

Source: USACE LRL/CMHarden-Lake, retrieved Aug 31, 2026, 8:24 AM (UTC+00:00). Official page for Cm Harden Lake →

Eagle Creek Reservoir

USGS · reading Aug 31, 2026, 3:00 AM (UTC-05:00) Provisional

Pool elevation
790.57 ft

Datum NGVD29

% of conservation pool full
Not reported
Storage
Not reported
Recent trend
→Steady

+0.0 ft over the trend window

790.9ft790.3ftJun 2 – Aug 31

Eagle Creek Reservoir is held back by Eagle Creek Reservoir Dam , an earthfill embankment, holding the pool back by sheer mass and an impervious core rather than by the strength of concrete , standing 92 ft high and running 5,100 ft along its crest , built across EAGLE CREEK in Marion County . It was completed in 1967 , and is owned by INDIANAPOLIS DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC WORKS . Its recorded primary purpose is flood risk reduction — the pool is drawn down between storms so there is empty space waiting for the next flood, which is why this level can fall in dry weather and climb sharply after rain. Its spillway is gated, so the operator can hold the pool above the spillway crest and meter what leaves. NID classes it high hazard potential. That describes what a failure would cost downstream — loss of life would be expected — and says nothing about how likely a failure is, or what condition the dam is in. Its most recent condition assessment was poor — a deficiency was recognised that needs attention. National Inventory of Dams record IN00084 — U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, public domain.

Source: USGS site 03353450, retrieved Aug 31, 2026, 8:24 AM (UTC+00:00). Official page for Eagle Creek Reservoir →

Geist Reservoir at Indianapolis

USGS · reading Aug 31, 2026, 2:45 AM (UTC-05:00) Provisional

Pool elevation
784.54 ft

Datum NAVD88

% of conservation pool full
Not reported
Storage
22,100 acre-ft
Recent trend
→Steady

−0.1 ft over the trend window

786.5ft784.4ftJun 2 – Aug 31

Geist Reservoir at Indianapolis is held back by Geist Reservoir Dam , standing 44 ft high and running 1,400 ft along its crest , built across FALL CREEK in Marion County . It was completed in 1944 . Its recorded primary purpose is water supply — delivering water to its customers comes first, so drawdown here follows demand as much as it follows rainfall. Its spillway is ungated: once the pool reaches the crest, water leaves on its own and the operator cannot hold it back. NID classes it high hazard potential. That describes what a failure would cost downstream — loss of life would be expected — and says nothing about how likely a failure is, or what condition the dam is in. Its most recent condition assessment was fair: sound under normal loading, though a rare or extreme event could expose a deficiency. National Inventory of Dams record IN00356 — U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, public domain.

Source: USGS site 03351700, retrieved Aug 31, 2026, 8:24 AM (UTC+00:00). Official page for Geist Reservoir at Indianapolis →

J. Edward Roush Lake

USGS · reading Aug 31, 2026, 3:45 AM (UTC-04:00) Provisional

Pool elevation
764.52 ft

Datum NGVD29

% of conservation pool full
Not reported
Storage
Not reported
Recent trend
↑Rising

+15.0 ft over the trend window

783.4ft749.2ftJun 2 – Aug 31

J. Edward Roush Lake is held back by J. Edward Roush Dam , a concrete structure , standing 104 ft high and running 6,500 ft along its crest , built across WABASH RIVER in Huntington County , near HUNTINGTON . It was completed in 1968 , and is owned by USACE - Chicago District , to a design credited to CELRL. Its recorded primary purpose is flood risk reduction — the pool is drawn down between storms so there is empty space waiting for the next flood, which is why this level can fall in dry weather and climb sharply after rain. Its spillway is gated, so the operator can hold the pool above the spillway crest and meter what leaves. NID classes it high hazard potential. That describes what a failure would cost downstream — loss of life would be expected — and says nothing about how likely a failure is, or what condition the dam is in. National Inventory of Dams record IN03006 — U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, public domain.

Source: USGS site 03323450 · USACE LRL/JERoush-Lake, retrieved Aug 31, 2026, 8:24 AM (UTC+00:00). Official page for J. Edward Roush Lake →

Mississinewa Lake at Peoria

USGS · reading Aug 31, 2026, 3:45 AM (UTC-04:00) Provisional

Pool elevation
752.43 ft

Datum NGVD29

% of conservation pool full
Not reported
Storage
Not reported
Recent trend
↑Rising

+15.1 ft over the trend window

764.4ft737.2ftJun 2 – Aug 31

Mississinewa Lake at Peoria is held back by Mississinewa Dam , an earthfill embankment, holding the pool back by sheer mass and an impervious core rather than by the strength of concrete , standing 140 ft high and running 8,000 ft along its crest , built across MISSISSINEWA RIVER in Miami County , near PERU . It was completed in 1967 , and is owned by USACE - Chicago District , to a design credited to CELRL. Its recorded primary purpose is flood risk reduction — the pool is drawn down between storms so there is empty space waiting for the next flood, which is why this level can fall in dry weather and climb sharply after rain. Its spillway is ungated: once the pool reaches the crest, water leaves on its own and the operator cannot hold it back. NID classes it high hazard potential. That describes what a failure would cost downstream — loss of life would be expected — and says nothing about how likely a failure is, or what condition the dam is in. National Inventory of Dams record IN03004 — U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, public domain.

Source: USGS site 03326950 · USACE LRL/Mississinewa-Lake, retrieved Aug 31, 2026, 8:24 AM (UTC+00:00). Official page for Mississinewa Lake at Peoria →

Monroe Lake

USGS · reading Aug 31, 2026, 3:25 AM (UTC-04:00) Provisional

Pool elevation
538.63 ft

Datum NGVD29

% of conservation pool full
Not reported
Storage
189,578 acre-ft
Recent trend
↓Falling

−3.5 ft over the trend window

551.0ft538.6ftJun 2 – Aug 31

Monroe Lake is held back by Monroe Dam , a rockfill embankment — quarried rock placed in compacted layers around a sealing core , standing 93 ft high and running 1,350 ft along its crest , built across SALT CREEK in Monroe County , near GUTHRIE . It was completed in 1965 , and is owned by USACE - Louisville District , to a design credited to CELRL. Its recorded primary purpose is flood risk reduction — the pool is drawn down between storms so there is empty space waiting for the next flood, which is why this level can fall in dry weather and climb sharply after rain. Its spillway is ungated: once the pool reaches the crest, water leaves on its own and the operator cannot hold it back. NID classes it high hazard potential. That describes what a failure would cost downstream — loss of life would be expected — and says nothing about how likely a failure is, or what condition the dam is in. National Inventory of Dams record IN03001 — U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, public domain.

Source: USGS site 03372400 · USACE LRL/Monroe, retrieved Aug 31, 2026, 8:24 AM (UTC+00:00). Official page for Monroe Lake →

Morse Reservoir at Noblesville

USGS · reading Aug 31, 2026, 2:45 AM (UTC-05:00) Provisional

Pool elevation
809.76 ft

Datum NAVD88

% of conservation pool full
Not reported
Storage
23,600 acre-ft
Recent trend
→Steady

−0.0 ft over the trend window

812.2ft809.6ftJun 2 – Aug 31

Morse Reservoir at Noblesville is held back by Morse Reservoir Dam , an earthfill embankment, holding the pool back by sheer mass and an impervious core rather than by the strength of concrete , standing 70 ft high and running 1,500 ft along its crest , built across CICERO CREEK in Hamilton County . It was completed in 1955 , and is owned by CITIZENS ENERGY GROUP , to a design credited to DODSON, KINNEY, & LINDBLOM, COLUMBUS, OHIO. Its recorded primary purpose is water supply — delivering water to its customers comes first, so drawdown here follows demand as much as it follows rainfall. Its spillway is ungated: once the pool reaches the crest, water leaves on its own and the operator cannot hold it back. NID classes it high hazard potential. That describes what a failure would cost downstream — loss of life would be expected — and says nothing about how likely a failure is, or what condition the dam is in. Its most recent condition assessment was satisfactory — no deficiencies recognised for expected loading. National Inventory of Dams record IN00018 — U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, public domain.

Source: USGS site 03350400, retrieved Aug 31, 2026, 8:24 AM (UTC+00:00). Official page for Morse Reservoir at Noblesville →

Patoka Lake

USGS · reading Aug 31, 2026, 3:15 AM (UTC-04:00) Provisional

Pool elevation
540.75 ft

Datum NGVD29

% of conservation pool full
Not reported
Storage
223,078 acre-ft
Recent trend
↓Falling

−1.4 ft over the trend window

543.0ft539.2ftJun 2 – Aug 31

Patoka Lake is held back by Patoka Lake Dam , a rockfill embankment — quarried rock placed in compacted layers around a sealing core , standing 145 ft high and running 1,500 ft along its crest , built across PATOKA RIVER in Dubois County , near JASPER . It was completed in 1978 , and is owned by USACE - Louisville District , to a design credited to CELRL. Its recorded primary purpose is flood risk reduction — the pool is drawn down between storms so there is empty space waiting for the next flood, which is why this level can fall in dry weather and climb sharply after rain. Its spillway is ungated: once the pool reaches the crest, water leaves on its own and the operator cannot hold it back. NID classes it high hazard potential. That describes what a failure would cost downstream — loss of life would be expected — and says nothing about how likely a failure is, or what condition the dam is in. National Inventory of Dams record IN03018 — U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, public domain.

Source: USGS site 03374498 · USACE LRL/Patoka, retrieved Aug 31, 2026, 8:24 AM (UTC+00:00). Official page for Patoka Lake →

Salamonie Lake

USACE · reading Aug 22, 2026, 1:15 PM (UTC+00:00)

Pool elevation
773.77 ft

Datum NGVD29

% of conservation pool full
Not reported
Storage
Not reported
Recent trend
→Steady

−0.1 ft over the trend window

755.5ft755.4ftJun 2 – Jun 7

Other gauges at this same structure: Salamonie Lake at Dora (USGS site 03324450 · USACE LRL/Salamonie) — 769.16 ft (NGVD29) — 55,628 acre-ft.

Source: USACE LRL/Salamonie-Lake, retrieved Aug 31, 2026, 8:24 AM (UTC+00:00). Official page for Salamonie Lake →

Frequently asked questions

How many lakes and reservoirs in Indiana are tracked here?
13, of which 13 report a current pool-elevation reading. The rest report storage only, or lack a fresh reading and are not published.
Which Indiana lakes report a %-full figure?
None of Indiana's lakes in this dataset currently have a source-provided %-full figure — we show the bare level rather than estimate one.
Where does the data come from?
USGS Water Services and USACE CWMS Data, both public domain. See the methodology page for the exact endpoints and update cadence.

Explore

Read the methodology behind these figures, or search all lakes nationally from the home page.